Sexuality Education Committee

The Sexuality Education Committee (SEC) is a statutory committee of the World Association for Sexual Health. The purpose of this committee is to provide advice and support in the area of sexuality education and health promotion and to oversee the quality of educational activities undertaken on behalf of WAS. This committee is also responsible for the Excellence in Education Awards.

In addition to sexuality education SEC supports training in sexology and collects information of the training worldwide. SEC provides advice and assistance to educators, health promoters and trainers in sexology. SEC disseminates, monitors and maintain the currency of the International Standards of Practice in Sexuality Education, Health Promotion and Training in Sexology. SEC members participate in international meetings where these issues are discussed and new educational standards developed.

Members 2017-2020

Chair: Osmo Kontula (Finland), Vice-Chair: Cristina Tania Fridman (Argentina)

Esther Corona (Mexico)
Christine Winkelmann (Germany)
Doortje Braeken (United Kingdom)
Ekua Yankah (Germany)
Patti Britton (United States)


Excellence in Sexuality Education awards

The Chairs are responsible for the initiation and conduct of the Excellence in Sexuality Education awards. They promote the call for nominations through the WAS web site and other means. After evaluations of the applicants they make a recommendation to the AC regarding the awardees, one in each for each of the three categories. These categories are Governmental Programmes, Academic Programmes, and Non-Governmental Organizations.

WAS Awards

Hall of Fame

Web Design by SiteWizard
Back to top